When Skylarks Sing in Spring (song)

When skylarks sing in spring, my love
My heart flies home to you
It rises joyous to the sun
Flies high above us everyone
And vanishes into the blue
When skylarks sing in spring, my love

My thoughts turn to our home, my love,
When wolves howl all around
I think of cakes and cups of tea
And how you touched me tenderly
All in our bed, without a sound
I think about our home, my love

My thoughts turn to your face, my love
When the rain pours down
I see both joy and sadness there
I run my fingers through your hair
And kiss away your lonely frown
I think about your face, my love

Now I have gone away, my love
As punishment for crime
I am my own worst enemy
There is no other remedy
No reprieve, I’ll do my time
Now I have gone away, my love

Look for me in the spring, my love
When skylarks take the air
A wandering beggar at your door
Will ask for just a little more
And suddenly you’ll see me there
Look for me in the spring, my love

When skylarks sing in spring, my love
My heart flies home to you
It rises joyous to the sun
Flies high above us, everyone
And vanishes into the blue
When skylarks sing in spring,
Look for me in the spring,
When skylarks sing in spring
My love

One thought on “When Skylarks Sing in Spring (song)

Leave a Reply

