Living on the coast (a song)

Skimming silver stones across a moonlit sea
A shooting star skips out across the sky
I know your love is out there, like a million dancing stars
And a million miles between us, you and I

And I am wandering on the beach, my heart just out of reach
A gull flying lonely and lost
Your heart cries out to me, over sand and under sea
I guess we both are living on the coast

Something still connects us, something stronger than the tide
Although we both have tried to live apart
Currents running through our lives run deep beneath the sea
And it’s current, wind, and waves that rule the heart

Now I’m wandering on the beach, my heart just out of reach
A gull flying lonely and lost
And your heart cries out to me, over sand and under sea
I guess we both are living on the coast

And the mist rolls in
And the foghorn blows
And a light shines out

And oh, can you hear the breakers roar?
And will we ever make it to the shore?

I don’t know if we’ll ever kiss each other’s lips again
Or ever feel our fingers interlace
But the sea breeze that blows through your tangled hair
Is the same breeze that blows across my face

And I am wandering on the beach, my heart just out of reach
A gull flying lonely and lost
And your heart cries out to me, over sand and under sea
I guess we both are living on the coast

4 thoughts on “Living on the coast (a song)

Leave a Reply

