The Wind in the Door

(from the vaults)

I am in the wind in the door
I am the glowing ember in the hearth’s heart

I am all that you seek
I am all that you fear
I am your secret heart’s desire

I am the dry leaves rattling on the ground
I am the unfurling green elder leaves
I am the lamb beneath the tree
I am the ewe giving birth to the lamb

I am the hammer that rings on the anvil
I am the bellows that fan the flames
I am the flame
I am the anvil
I am the ringing of steel on steel

I am the fever that burns you inside
I am the fever’s cure

I am the candle that burns in the window
I am the music you hear in the distance

I am the look in your lover’s eyes
As you lie warm in bed, falling asleep

Leave a Reply

