Long Hellos and Short Goodbyes, by Davy Steele

The other night I went to a concert in memory of the great Scottish singer/songerwriter Davy Steele who was taken from us a few years ago at the cruelly young age of 52.

This is a song he wrote for his then girlfriend (later wife) when they were both in bands on the road and only saw each other between gigs.

Makes me cry every time I hear it, so those of a sensitive disposition please consider yourself warned!

Long Hellos and Short Goodbyes

Every time I watch you go away
Like a swallow flying south
Cold feelings in my soul again
Frozen words in my mouth

Sudden burst of clumsy movement
Then I watch you slowly fade
Partings are the hardest moments
The thought of things we’ve left unsaid

Long Hellos, Short Goodbyes
In between the time just flies
It gets lonely heaven knows
Waiting for those long Hellos

Slow nights are those we spend alone
Knowing its to be this way
Counting hours counting shimmering sighs
Watching darks skies turn to grey

And those days we spend together
Feels we’re always chasing time
Goes so slow when you are everyone’s
And goes so fast when you’re just mine

Long Hellos, Short Goodbyes
In between the time just flies
It gets lonely heaven knows
Waiting for those long Hellos

If I thought I could do it all again
I wouldn’t change a single thing
For I would swim an ocean of tears
Just to hear my swallow sing

Long Hellos, Short Goodbyes
In between the time just flies
It gets lonely heaven knows
Waiting for those long Hellos

Waiting for those long Hellos

Leave a Reply

