When I think about my life so far

When I think about my life so far
The highs and lows, the pleasure and the pain
I feel I’ve climbed from ocean floors to mountains, stars,
And slid back down again through mud and rain

Through trackless forests I have chased the scent
And in turn been chased by many a fearsome beast
But the glimpse of happiness that I’ve been sent
Has wrung the greatest pleasure from the least

And after wending home, when footsteps tire
I feel the happiness that waits me there
Of simply sitting, resting by the crackling fire
And breathing, with deep breaths, my native air

We fools need both the homefire and the chase
Until we find our perfect resting place

Leave a Reply

